Bet on It: Derby Season

It’s spring lovely people and do you know what that means for the folks of the bluegrass? Horse racing! Before college I had never been to the track even though I resided in the horse capitol of the world. It just wasn’t popular in the area where I lived. When I arrived at college I was pleasantly introduced to the glamorous world of Keeneland. Its lush green pastures and bright white farm sense beckoned to me like the emerald city itself. From that moment on you could say I was hooked along with my other greek and non-greek friends. Opening day has since become a tradition and is begun at the earliest in the morning. It starts by carefully curling your hair and meticulously applying the perfect face of make-up to stand-up to a harsh day of warm sunlight and a fresh breeze. And then comes putting on your dress. This dress had probably been purchased weeks or even months beforehand to wear for this specific event and you have been dreaming about putting it on with your best wedges to go bet on the horses. And truly this is the main event because not just any dress makes it to Keeneland. It is most likely pastel or flowery and is modest so that it can be perfectly paired with a monogram or pearls. I never turn down a reason to dress up and this is no exception. In addition to a bomb dress, a few other essentials are necessary:

  1. Croakies. Preferably in your favorite Lilly pattern and attached to your favorite pair of sunglasses (mine are brown tortoise Rayban wayfarers) Get them here
  2. A big sunhat. These are not as popular as they are at the Derby and Carolina Cup but I believe they make any outfit better! Get one here or on etsy!
  3. Shoes. Don’t take this lightly. Shoes can make or break an outfit. If there’s not a pair of chunky wedges that match your dress, Jacks are always a safe bet! Get the pair here
  4. Money. A little bit of money to bet on horses make the whole day more interesting. Just bring five dollars to bet on two horses. Its fun to have some stakes in the race! Who knows you might even have the winning ticket!

Unfortunately for me I won’t be making opening day this season (sad sad face) because I will be out of town. But don’t worry I will be going to the races and I will be sure to post an outfit update!

Screen Shot 2015-04-01 at 10.16.24 PM

2 thoughts on “Bet on It: Derby Season

Leave a Reply

